Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Juneau County, Wisconsin

Juneau County Education, Geography, and History

Juneau County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Juneau County is a county located in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 26,664. Its county seat is Mauston.

Etymology - Origin of Juneau County Name

Juneau County named in honor of Solomon Juneau, an early French trader on the site of Milwaukee, and first mayor of that city. Born in 1793 in Canada, as a youth Juneau began trading at Mackinac. He went to Milwaukee in 1818, as an employee of Jacques Vieau. Juneau was the first postmaster of the town (1835), assisted in laying out the first plat of the city (his partner was Morgan L. Martin of Green Bay), and served as mayor after its incorporation (1846). In later life he removed to Dodge County, and died in 1856 at Shawano, while attending an Indian payment.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231.]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

County History

Iron County was created in 1893 from Ashland and Oneida Counties and is named after the iron deposits found in the area. Located in northwest Wisconsin, the area is 757.3 square miles with 494 lakes and rivers; Bear, Flambeau, Manitowish, Montreal, Potato, and Tyler Forks. Population in the year 2000 was 6,861. The county is seat is Hurley.

Present day Iron County is bordered on the east by Vilas County, , on the west by Ashland County, on the south by Price County, and to the north the Michigan state border, GogebicCounty, MI & Iron County MI

Juneau County (included with Adams)
From: Handbook of Wisconsin by S. Silas, 1855
pg. 46-48

By an act of the Legislature passed during the session of 1855, this county [Adams] is divided by the Wisconsin River, making the County of Juneau on the west side, subject to approval by the voters of the County in November. There is little doubt the County will be so divided.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 804 square miles (2,083 km2), of which, 768 square miles (1,988 km2) of it is land and 37 square miles (95 km2) of it (4.54%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wood County - north
  • Adams County - east
  • Columbia County - southeast
  • Sauk County - south
  • Vernon County - southwest
  • Monroe County - west
  • Jackson County - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge