Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Lincoln County, Wisconsin

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and History

Lincoln County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,867. Its county seat is Merrill. The county was created in 1875 and named after President Abraham Lincoln.

Lincoln County comprises the Merrill, WI Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Wausau-Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, WI Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lincolnn County Name

Lincoln County was named in honor of President Abraham Lincoln - Gannett, Place Names, p. 161.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231. ]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln County History

Lincoln County is a county located in the US state of Wisconsin. Its county seat is Merrill.

Lincoln County has a lot to offer. It was created by the Wisconsin Legislature in 1874. In the beginning, Lincoln County included most of Oneida and Vilas Counties as well as parts of Langlade, Taylor, Price and Iron Counties. Lincoln County reached its' present size in 1885.

The early progress of Lincoln County is synonymous with the growth of the logging industry. The pines and virgin hardwood forests attracted loggers from far and wide. As operations grew, settlements sprang up bringing the retail stores and other business places. In clearing the forest, the lumbermen were opening the way for the farmer.

The City of Merrill was named for S.S. Merrill, then the General Manager of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad. In 1881, the first courthouse was built, which later housed the Lincoln County Teachers College. The present courthouse was completed in 1903 and was entered on the National register of Historic Places by the Secretary of the Interior on April 19, 1978.

The City of Tomahawk was incorporated in 1891. The pulp and paper industry played a large part in the City's history as it continues to do at the present time. Within the City, Bradley Park, named for the father of the City, William H. Bradley, covers over 100 acres of land, heavily wooded with virgin pine. Tomahawk lies in the heart of Wisconsin's vacationland.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 907 square miles (2,349 km2), of which, 883 square miles (2,288 km2) of it is land and 24 square miles (62 km2) of it (2.62%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Oneida County - north
  • Langlade County - east
  • Marathon County - south
  • Taylor County - west
  • Price County - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge