Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Monroe County, Wisconsin

Monroe County Education, Geography, and History

Monroe County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Monroe County is a county in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 44,673. Its county seat is Sparta.

Etymology - Origin of Monroe County Name

Named in honor of President James Monroe - Gannett, Place Names, p. 182.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231.]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Monroe County History

Monroe County, created in 1854 from La Crosse County, is named after James Monroe, the 5th President of the United States. Located in southwest Wisconsin, the county seat is Sparta.

MONROE.--Population 2,151.
From: Handbook of Wisconsin by S. Silas, 1855
pg. 85-86

Formed out of La Crosse in 1854. It is watered by the heads of the Kickapoo, La Crosse and Lemonwier Rivers. Forests of pine are about the sources of the Kickapoo, which are yet scarcely broken in upon. The settlements are few and small, and the land mostly unsold.

There is much good furming land, though most of it is of light soil, and will be rejected till other lands are occupied. It lies in the La Crosse land district.

Sparta, the County Seat, at the junction of Beaver Creek and La Crosse River, 30 miles from La Crosse, contains a population of about 700, and is still rapidly increasing. It has a good water power, and like all other new places, schools, public houses, stores &c., are there.

Jackson, on the Lemonwier, has been but recently laid out, and has a valuable mill privilege, in which the proprietor is erecting saw mills, white pine abounding in its vicinity.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 908 square miles (2,352 km2), of which, 901 square miles (2,333 km2) of it is land and 8 square miles (19 km2) of it (0.83%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jackson County - north
  • Juneau County - east
  • Vernon County - south
  • La Crosse County - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge