Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Oneida County, Wisconsin

Oneida County Education, Geography, and History

Oneida County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Oneida County is a county in the state of Wisconsin, United States. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 35,998. Its county seat is Rhinelander

Etymology - Origin of Oneida County Name

Named for a tribe of New York Indians, a branch of the Iroquois, who removed to Wisconsin early in the nineteenth century. The name is said to signify "granite people." - Gannett, Place Names, p. 196.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231.]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

OneidaCounty History

Oneida County was formed in 1885 from a part of Lincoln County which was formed in 1874 from part of Marathon County. In turn, Marathon County was formed in 1850 from Portage County, one of the original Territorial counties. Thus, someone living in Oneida County today is on ground that was Portage County until 1850, Marathon County from 1850 to 1874 and Lincoln County from 1874 to 1885.
In 1893 Oneida County underwent significant change when the northwest corner was joined with part of Ashland County to form Iron County and an even greater portion of the northern part of the county went to form Vilas County.

Present day Oneida County is bordered by Vilas County on the north and Price County on the west. The southern border of Oneida County joins Lincoln County on the western part and Langlade County on the eastern part. Forest County is on Oneida County's eastern border.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,236 square miles (3,201 km2), of which, 1,124 square miles (2,912 km2) of it is land and 111 square miles (288 km2) of it (9.01%) is water. Most people visit Oneida County to enjoy its lakes. In particular, tourists flock to Minocqua, a town of nearly 5,000 people with a summer population around 15,000.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Vilas County - north
  • Forest County - east
  • Langlade County - southeast
  • Lincoln County - south
  • Price County - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge