Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Sawyer County, Wisconsin

Sawyer County Education, Geography, and History

Sawyer County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Sawyer County is a county in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 16,557. Its county seat is Hayward.

Etymology - Origin of Sawyer County Name

Named in honor of Philetus Sawyer of Oshkosh. Born in Vermont in 1816, he removed to Wisconsin in 1847 and two years later started a sawmill at Oshkosh. In 1857 and 1861 he was a member of the assembly; 1865-75, he represented Wisconsin in Congress. In 1881 he was chosen United States senator and re-elected for a second term. He died in 1900 at his Oshkosh home.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231. ]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sawyer County History

Sawyer County is a county in the US state of Wisconsin. As of 2000, the population was 16,196. Its county seat is Hayward. The county is named for Philetus Sawyer, who represented Wisconsin in the US House of Representatives and US Senate in the 19th century.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,350 square miles (3,497 km2), of which, 1,256 square miles (3,254 km2) of it is land and 94 square miles (243 km2) of it (6.95%) is water.

Located in northwest Wisconsin, Sawyer County is almost completely forest and lakes with a long history of logging. The Flambeau River State Forest and Lake Chippewa Flowage are located here, along with the Quiet and Spider Lakes. Almost all of the county is located in what is known as the North Central Forest Ecological Landscape, "Landforms characterized by end and ground moraines with some pitted outwash and bedrock controlled areas. Kettle depressions and steep ridges are found in the northern portion."

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bayfield County - north
  • Ashland County - northeast
  • Price County - east
  • Rusk County - south
  • Barron County - southwest
  • Washburn County - west
  • Douglas County - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge