Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Adams County, Idaho

Adams County Education, Geography, and HistoryAdams County, Idaho Courthouse

Adams County is a rural county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the county had a population of 3,976, making it the fifth-least populous county in Idaho. Adams county was created in 1911. The county seat and largest city is Council. The county is named in honor of President John Adams.

Etymology - Origin of Adams County Name

Adams County is named for John Adams (1735-1826), President of the United States from 1797 to 1801.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Adams County History

Established March 3, 1911 with its county seat at Council. Named for John Adams, the second President of the United States. The Council valley was a meeting place for the Nez Perce and Shoshoni Indian Tribes.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,370 square miles (3,500 km2), of which 1,363 square miles (3,530 km2) is land and 6.7 square miles (17 km2) (0.5%) is water.

 Adams county is located close to the center of Idaho.      Parts of Hells Canyon National Recreation Area and Payette National Forest are located in this county.


Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Idaho County
  • East: Valley County
  • South: Gem County
  • Southwest: Washington County
  • West: Baker County, Ore.
  • Northwest: Wallowa County, Ore.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge