Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Bingham County, Idaho

Bingham County Education, Geography, and HistoryBingham County, Idaho Courthouse

Bingham County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 45,607. Bingham County was created on January 13, 1885. The county seat and largest city is Blackfoot. The county is named in honor of Henry H. Bingham (1841-1912), a general in the American Civil War and a U.S. Congressman from Pennsylvania.

Bingham County comprises the Blackfoot, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Idaho Falls-Rexburg-Blackfoot, ID Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Bingham County Name

Bingham County is named for Henry Harrison Bingham, a United States Representative from Pennsylvania and a friend of Idaho Territory Governor William M. Bunn.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Bingham County History

Established January 13, 1885, with its county seat at Blackfoot, from the east and north parts of Oneida County. Named by Territorial Governor William M. Bunn for his friend Henry Harrison Bingham, Pennsylvania Congressman. Fremont County was carved out of Bingham in 1893, Bonneville in 1911, Power in 1913, and Butte in 1917.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,120 square miles (5,500 km2), of which 2,094 square miles (5,420 km2) is land and 26 square miles (67 km2) (1.2%) is water.

 Bingham county is located in southeast Idaho. The Snake River flows southwest through the middle of Bingham County; at the county's southwest corner the river is the American Falls Reservoir. Smaller buttes called the East Butte and the Middle Butte located in the Snake River Plain are visible south of US Route 20

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Jefferson County
  • Northeast: Bonneville County
  • Southeast: Caribou County
  • South: Bannock County
  • Southwest: Power County
  • West: Blaine County
  • Northwest: Butte County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge