Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Blaine County, Idaho

Blaine County Education, Geography, and HistoryBlaine County, Idaho Courthouse

Blaine County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,376. Blaine County was created by the state legislature on March 5, 1895. The county seat and largest city is Hailey. The county is named after former congressman and 1884 Republican presidential nominee James G. Blaine (1830-1893).

Blaine County is included in the Hailey, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area. It is home to the Sun Valley ski resort, adjacent to Ketchum.

Etymology - Origin of Blaine County Name

Blaine County is named for James Gillespie Blaine (1830-1893), United States Secretary of State in 1881 and 1889 to 1892 and the 1884 Republican nominee for President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Blaine County History

Established March 5, 1895 with Hailey as the county seat. Named for James G. Blaine, U. S. Secretary of State (1889-1892) under President Benjamin Harrison. The area was first explored in 1818 by Donald Mackenzie.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,661 square miles (6,890 km2), of which 2,644 square miles (6,850 km2) is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) (0.6%) is water.

 Blaine county is located close to the center of Idaho. Parts of Craters of the Moon National Monument, Minidoka National Wildlife Refuge, Salmon-Challis National Forest, Sawtooth National Forest, and Sawtooth National Recreation Area are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Butte County
  • East: Bingham County
  • Southeast: Power County; Minidoka County
  • South: Cassia County
  • Southwest: Lincoln County
  • West: Elmore County; Camas County
  • Northwest: Custer County


All but one public school is administered by the Blaine County School District. There are two public high schools in the county, Wood River High School in Hailey and Carey High School in Carey. Syringa Mountain School is the first charter school to be approved in Blaine County and opened in the fall of 2014. The rural Yale area in the county's southeastern panhandle is served by schools in neighboring Minidoka County.

Private schools include Community School in Sun Valley and The Sage School in Hailey.

The College of Southern Idaho, a community college based in Twin Falls, operates an off-campus outreach center in Hailey

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge