Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Bonner County, Idaho

Bonner County Education, Geography, and HistoryBonner County, Idaho Courthouse

Bonner County is a county located in the northern part of the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 40,877. Bonner county was created in 1907. The county seat and largest city is Sandpoint. Bonner county is named for Edwin L. Bonner, a ferry operator.

Bonner County comprises the Sandpoint, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Bonner County Name

Bonner County is named for Edwin L. Bonner, a pioneer ferry operator in the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Bonner County History

Established February 21, 1907 with its county seat at Sandpoint. It was named for Edwin L. Bonner, who, in 1864, established a ferry on the Kootenai River where the town of Bonners Ferry is located. The ferry became an important site in emigrant travel between Walla Walla to the placer and quartz mines in British Columbia.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,919 square miles (4,970 km2), of which 1,735 square miles (4,490 km2) is land and 185 square miles (480 km2) (9.6%) is water.

Bonner county is located in north Idaho. Parts of Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail, Coeur d'Alene National Forest, Kaniksu National Forest, and Kootenai National Forest are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Boundary County
  • Northeast: Lincoln County, Mont.
  • Southeast: Sanders County, Mont.; Shoshone County
  • South: Kootenai County
  • Southwest: Spokane County, Wash.
  • Northwest: Pend Oreille County, Wash.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge