Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Boundary County, Idaho

Boundary County Education, Geography, and HistoryBoundary County, Idaho Courthouse

Boundary County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,972. Boundary County was created on January 23, 1915. The county seat and largest city is Bonners Ferry. The county is so named because it borders Canada, the only county in Idaho with an international border.

Etymology - Origin of Boundary County Name

Boundary County is named for the fact that it borders Washington on the west, Montana on the east, and British Columbia, Canada, on the north.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Boundary County History

Established January 23, 1915 with its county seat at Bonners Ferry. It was so named because it borders Canada in the north, Washington on the west, and Montana on the east as well as Bonner County on the south.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,278 square miles (3,310 km2), of which 1,269 square miles (3,290 km2) is land and 9.3 square miles (24 km2) (0.7%) is water.

 Boundary county is located in north Idaho. Kootenai National Wildlife Refuge and parts of Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail, Kaniksu National Forest, and Kootenai National Forest are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: British Columbia, Canada
  • Southeast: Lincoln County, Mont.
  • South: Bonner County
  • Southwest: Pend Oreille County, Wash.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge