Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Camas County, Idaho

Camas County Education, Geography, and HistoryCamas County, Idaho Courthouse

Camas County is a county in the southern portion of the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,117 making it the second-least populous county in Idaho. The county was created  on February 6, 1917. The county seat is Fairfield.  Camas county is named for the camas root, or Camassia, a lily-like plant with an edible bulb found in the region, which was used as a food source by Native Americans and settlers.

Camas County is included in the Hailey, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Camas County Name

Camas County is named for the camassia, a lily-like plant with an edible bulb, which is native to the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Camas County History

Established February 6, 1917 with its county seat at Fairfield. Named for the lily-like plant found in the area with an edible bulb used as food by settlers.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,079 square miles (2,790 km2), of which 1,074 square miles (2,780 km2) is land and 4.5 square miles (12 km2) (1.0%) is water.

 Camas county is located close to the center of Idaho.
The highest point is Camas County Highpoint at 10,337 ft (3,151 m), on the county's northern border with Blaine County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • East: Blaine County
  • Southeast: Lincoln County
  • South: Gooding County
  • Southwest: Elmore County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge