Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Caribou County, Idaho

Caribou County Education, Geography, and HistoryCaribou County, Idaho Courthouse

Caribou County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the county had a population of 6,963. Caribou County was created on February 11, 1919. The county seat and largest city is Soda Springs. Caribou county is named for the Caribou Mountains.

Etymology - Origin of Caribou County Name

Caribou County is named for the Caribou Mountains.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Caribou County History

Established February 11, 1919 with its county seat at Soda Springs, the last county in Idaho to be created. Named for the Caribou Mountains, which in turn are named for Cariboo Fairchild, who had taken part in the gold rush in the Cariboo region of British Columbia in 1860. He discovered gold in this region two years later. This area was on the routes of the earliest explorers, fur trappers and Oregon Trail emigrants. Thousands of emigrants passed through the present site of Soda Springs, so named for the many effervescent natural springs in the area.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,799 square miles (4,660 km2), of which 1,764 square miles (4,570 km2) is land and 34 square miles (88 km2) (1.9%) is water.

Caribou county is located in southeast Idaho. The northern half of the county is part of the Magic Valley region of the Snake River Plain, and numerous mountain ranges extend north from the southern boundary and diminish as they approach the river, which flows from east to west. The Silent City of Rocks National Reserve, containing exposed granitic batholith as old as 2.5 billion years, is located in the southern part of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Bonneville County
  • Southeast: Lincoln County, Wyo.; Bear Lake County
  • Southwest: Franklin County
  • West: Bannock County
  • Northwest: Bingham County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge