Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Clark County, Idaho

Clark County Education, Geography, and HistoryClark County, Idaho Courthouse

Clark County is a rural county in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the county had a population of 982, making it the least populous county in Idaho. The county was created on February 1, 1919. The county seat and largest city is Dubois.  Clark county is named for State Senator Sam K. Clark, an early pioneer on Medicine Lodge Creek.

Etymology - Origin of Clark County Name

Clark County is named for Sam K. Clark, an early member of the Idaho Legislature from the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clark County History

Established February 1, 1919 with its county seat at Dubois. Named for Sam K. Clark, early settler on Medicine Lodge Creek who became the first state senator from Clark County. The city of Dubois was named for US Senator Fred Dubois, a prominent Idaho political figure in early history.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,765 square miles (4,570 km2), of which 1,764 square miles (4,570 km2) is land and 1.0 square mile (2.6 km2) (0.1%) is water.

Clark county is located close to the center of Idaho. The northern border of the county is the Bitterroot Range of the Rocky Mountains, which forms the state line with Montana and is also the continental divide. It is crossed by Interstate 15 over Monida Pass at 6,820 feet (2,079 m) above sea level. Monida Pass also marks an east-west divide between Bitterroot subranges: the Beaverhead Mountains are to the west and the Centennial Mountains are to the east.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • East: Fremont County
  • South: Jefferson County
  • Southwest: Butte County
  • Northwest: Lemhi County; Beaverhead County, Mont.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge