Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Clearwater County, Idaho

Clearwater County Education, Geography, and HistoryClearwater County, Idaho Courthouse

Clearwater County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,761. Clearwater county was created in 1911. The county seat is Orofino. The county is named after the Clearwater River.

Etymology - Origin of Clearwater County Name

Clearwater County is named for the Clearwater River, which flows into the Snake River at Lewiston.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clearwater County History

Established in February 27, 1911 with its county seat at Orofino. Named for the Clearwater River whose name was translated from the Nez Perce term Koos-Koos-Kai-Kai, describing clear water. In September, 1805, Lewis and Clark followed an old Indian trail between the north and middle forks of the Clearwater River and met the Nez Perce near the present site of Weippe. Gold was first discovered by E. D. Perce in 1860 and Pierce City, the oldest mining town in Idaho came into existence.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,488 square miles (6,440 km2), of which 2,457 square miles (6,360 km2) is land and 31 square miles (80 km2) (1.2%) is water.

 Clearwater county is located in north Idaho. The county is part of the Palouse, a wide and rolling prairie-like region of the middle Columbia basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Shoshone County
  • Northeast: Mineral County, Mont.; Missoula County, Mont.
  • South: Idaho County
  • Southwest: Lewis County; Nez Perce County
  • West: Latah County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge