Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Gooding County, Idaho

Gooding County Education, Geography, and HistoryGooding County, Idaho Courthouse

Gooding County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,464.  The county was created on January 28, 1913. The county seat is Gooding. Gooding county is named for Frank R. Gooding, an early 20th Century governor and United States Senator from Idaho.

Etymology - Origin of Gooding County Name

Gooding County is named for Frank Robert Gooding (1859-1928), an Idaho governor and US Senator in the early 20th Century.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Gooding County History

Established January 28, 1913 with its county seat at Gooding. Named for Frank R. Gooding, pioneer sheep rancher, early mayor of the city of Gooding, later Idaho Governor and U. S. Senator. Mountain men and fur traders trapped the Malad River extensively in the early 1800s. Settlers came to the rich agricultural lands of the Hagerman Valley in the 1860s.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 734 square miles (1,900 km2), of which 729 square miles (1,890 km2) is land and 4.7 square miles (12 km2) (0.6%) is water.

Gooding county is located close to the center of Idaho.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Camas County
  • East: Lincoln County
  • Southeast: Jerome County
  • South: Twin Falls County
  • Northwest: Elmore County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge