Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Jefferson County, Idaho

Jefferson County Education, Geography, and HistoryJefferson County, Idaho Courthouse

Jefferson County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 26,140. The county seat and largest city is Rigby. The county was created in 1913. Jefferson county named after Thomas Jefferson, the third United States President.

Jefferson County is part of the Idaho Falls, ID Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Jefferson County Name

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jefferson County History

Established February 18, 1913 with its county seat at Rigby. Named for Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States. The first settlers were Mormons who constructed irrigation systems.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,106 square miles (2,860 km2), of which 1,094 square miles (2,830 km2) is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Jefferson county is located in east Idaho. Camas National Wildlife Refuge and part of Targhee National Forest is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Clark County
  • Northeast: Fremont County
  • East: Madison County
  • Southeast: Bonneville County
  • South: Bingham County
  • West: Butte County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge