Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Jerome County, Idaho

Jerome County Education, Geography, and HistoryJerome County, Idaho Courthouse

Jerome County is a county in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the county had a population of 22,374. The county seat and largest city is Jerome. The county was created on February 8, 1919. Jerome county is named after either Jerome Hill, a developer of the North Side Irrigation Project, his son-in-law Jerome Kuhn, or his grandson Jerome Kuhn, Jr.

Jerome County is part of the Twin Falls, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Jerome County Name

Jerome County is named for either Jerome Hill, Jerome Kuhn or Jerome Kuhn, Jr., three related local leaders important to the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jerome County History

Established February 8, 1919 with its county seat at Jerome. Three sources for the name are commonly given: Jerome Hill, one of the developers of the North Side Irrigation Project; his grandson, Jerome Kuhn, Jr.; or his son-in-law, Jerome Kuhn. All were important to the growth of the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 602 square miles (1,560 km2), of which 597 square miles (1,550 km2) is land and 5.0 square miles (13 km2) (0.8%) is water.

Jerome county is located in south Idaho. Minidoka National Historic Site is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Lincoln County; Minidoka County
  • Southeast: Cassia County
  • Southwest: Twin Falls County
  • Northwest: Gooding County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge