Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Kootenai County, Idaho

Kootenai County Education, Geography, and HistoryKootenai County, Idaho Courthouse

Kootenai County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 138,494, making it the third-most populous county in Idaho. Kootenai county was created in 1864. The county seat and largest city is Coeur d'Alene. The county is named after the Kootenai tribe.

Kootenai County comprises the Coeur d'Alene, ID Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Spokane-Spokane Valley-Coeur d'Alene, WA-ID Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kootenai County Name

Kootenai County is named for the Kutenai Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kootenai County History

Established December 22, 1864 by the Second Territorial Legislature with Seneaquoteen, a trading post below Lake Pend Oreille, as the county seat. Rathdrum replaced Seneaquoteen as county seat in 1881 and Coeur d'Alene replaced Rathdrum in 1908. Named for the Kutenai Indians who inhabited the area when the white man arrived. The word "Kootenai" is derived from the Kutenai word meaning "water people."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,316 square miles (3,410 km2), of which 1,244 square miles (3,220 km2) is land and 71 square miles (180 km2) (5.4%) is water.

 Kootenai county is located in northwest Idaho. The vast majority of the water area is the county's primary attraction, Lake Coeur d'Alene. Kootenai County is part of the Inland Empire in the Idaho Panhandle.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Bonner County
  • Southeast: Shoshone County
  • South: Benewah County
  • West: Spokane County, Wash.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge