Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Lincoln County, Idaho

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and HistoryLincoln County, Idaho Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,208. Lincoln County was created on March 18, 1895. The county seat and largest city is Shoshone. The county is named after President Abraham Lincoln.

Lincoln County is included in the Hailey, ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), President of the United States from 1861 to 1865.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln County History

Established March 18, 1895 with its county seat at Shoshone. Lincoln was much larger originally, in 1913 Gooding and Minidoka took about half the original Lincoln County, after the creation of Jerome in 1919, Lincoln was left with only 1,206 square miles. Named for President Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth President of the United States, under whose administration the Idaho Territory was established.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,206 square miles (3,120 km2), of which 1,201 square miles (3,110 km2) is land and 4.5 square miles (12 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Lincoln county is located close to the center of Idaho. Part of the Craters of the Moon National Monument and Preserve is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Blaine County
  • Southeast: Minidoka County
  • Southwest: Jerome County
  • West: Gooding County
  • Northwest: Camas County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge