Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Payette County, Idaho

Payette County Education, Geography, and HistoryPayette County, Idaho Courthouse

Payette County is a county located in Idaho in the United States of America. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,623. Payette County was created on February 28, 1917. The county seat and largest city is Payette. The county is named in honor of Francois Payette, Canadian-born fur trader and early settler.

Payette County is part of the Ontario, OR-ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Payette County Name

Payette County is named for the Payette River, which, in turn, is named for explorer Francois Payette.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Payette County History

Established February 28, 1917, with its county seat at Payette. Payette was originally settled as a railroad camp in the 1860s and called Boomerang for the log boom on the Payette River. The site, and the community which grew around it, was later named in honor of the area's first white settler, Francois Payette, a Canadian fur trapper and explorer with the North West Company who arrived in 1818.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 410 square miles (1,100 km2), of which 407 square miles (1,050 km2) is land and 3.4 square miles (8.8 km2) (0.8%) is water.

 Payette county is located close to the center of Idaho. The county is the smallest county in Idaho by area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Washington County
  • East: Gem County
  • South: Canyon County
  • Southwest: Malheur County, Ore.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge