Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Power County, Idaho

Power County Education, Geography, and HistoryPower County, Idaho Courthouse

Power County is a county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the county had a population of 7,817. The county was created on January 30, 1913. The county seat and largest city is American Falls.  Power county is named for an early hydroelectric power plant (1902) at the American Falls.

Etymology - Origin of Power County Name

Power County is named for the American Falls Power Plant.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

PowerCounty History

Established on January 30, 1913 with its county seat at American Falls. Named for the American Falls Power Plant. American Falls was the first settlement in the county and was a frequent camping place on the Oregon Trail. It became a railroad station when the Oregon Short Line was built across southern Idaho.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,443 square miles (3,740 km2), of which 1,404 square miles (3,640 km2) is land and 38 square miles (98 km2) (2.7%) is water.

Power county is located in southeast Idaho. Parts of Caribou National Forest, Craters of the Moon National Monument and Preserve, Curlew National Grassland, Minidoka National Wildlife Refuge, Sawtooth National Forest are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Bingham County
  • East: Bannock County
  • Southeast: Oneida County
  • Southwest: Cassia County
  • Northwest: Blaine County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge