Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are forty-four Counties in Idaho. When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Valley County, Idaho

Valley County Education, Geography, and HistoryValley County, Idaho Courthouse

Valley County is a rural county located in the state of Idaho. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,862. Valley County was created on February 26, 1917. The county seat is Cascade. The county is named for the Long Valley located in the county.

Established in 1917, it was named after the Long Valley of the North Fork of the Payette River, which extends over 30 miles (50 km) from Payette Lake at McCall south to Cascade to Round Valley. The valley was formerly a summer pasture for livestock from the Boise Valley. Since the completion of the Cascade Dam in 1948, much of the northern valley has been covered by the Cascade Reservoir.

Etymology - Origin of Valley County Name

Valley County is named for the area's Long Valley.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Valley County History

Established February 26, 1917 with its county seat at Cascade. Named for the outstanding topographical feature of the area, Long Valley. Fur trappers were the first white men in the area but permanent settlement did not take place until the 1880s when livestock ranchers moved into Long Valley.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,733 square miles (9,670 km2), of which 3,665 square miles (9,490 km2) is land and 68 square miles (180 km2) (1.8%) is water.

 Valley county is located close to the center of Idaho. The county is the fifth-largest county in Idaho by area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Idaho County
  • East: Lemhi County
  • Southeast: Custer County
  • South: Boise County
  • Southwest: Gem County
  • West: Adams County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge