Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Alcorn County, Mississippi

Alcorn County Education, Geography, and HistoryAlcorn County, Mississippi Courthouse

Alcorn County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 37,057. Its county seat is Corinth. The county is named in honor of Governor James L. Alcorn.

The Corinth Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Alcorn County.

Etymology - Origin of Alcorn County Name

Alcorn is named for Governor of Mississippi James L. Alcorn.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Alcorn County History

Alcorn County was erected April 15, 1870, from Tippiah and Tishomingo counties, and named in honor of Gov. James L. Alcorn, the first chief executive of the State chosen under the constitution of 1869. It was the site of the Siege of Corinth, an early campaign in the American Civil War.

Corinth is the county seat, advantageously located at the junction of the Southern, Mobile & Ohio and Illinois Central railways. It has an interesting history connected with the days of the Confederacy, as has all the region surrounding it, a full account of which may be found in the chapters on the War for Southern Independence. With the exception of Columbus, it is the only large manufacturing point in the northern portion of the State, a section chiefly supplied by Memphis. In 1920 There are no other large towns in the county, the more important ones being Rienzi, the old rival of Corinth, and the only incorporated town in the county outside of Corinth; Kossuth, Jacinto, the first county seat of old Tishomingo County; Danville, an important town in the early history of Tishomingo; and Wenasoga.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 401 square miles (1,039 km2). It is the smallest county in area in Mississippi. 400 square miles (1,036 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.36%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • McNairy County, Tennessee (north)
  • Hardin County, Tennessee (northeast)
  • Tishomingo County (east)
  • Prentiss County (south)
  • Tippah County (west)
  • Hardeman County, Tennessee (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge