Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Calhoun County, Mississippi

Calhoun County Education, Geography, and HistoryCalhoun County, Mississippi Courthouse

Calhoun County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,962. Its county seat is Pittsboro. The county is named after John C. Calhoun, the US Vice President and US Senator from South Carolina.

Etymology - Origin of Calhoun County Name

Calhoun is named after US Vice President and US Senator from South Carolina, John C. Calhoun. John Caldwell Calhoun (March 18, 1782 - March 31, 1850) was a leading United States Southern politician from South Carolina during the first half of the 19th century. He was the first Vice President to resign his office. Calhoun was an advocate of slavery, states' rights, limited government, and nullification. He was the first Vice President born as a US citizen.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Calhoun County History

Calhoun County was created on March 8, 1852 from LaFayette, Yalobusha and Chickasaw counties , during the gubernatorial administration of Henry S. Foote. It was named for John C. Calhoun. Its boundaries have not been changed since it was established in 1852.
Porter A. Davis, W. H. Duberry, L. Brasher, M. Murphree, C. Orr, John Hunter and James McCrory were appointed commissioners to organize the county, and it was provided by the act that the Board of Police select a seat of justice as near the geographical center as possible. Pittsboro was thus chosen and was named in honor of one of the early settlers.

The County court house was destroyed by fire on December 22, 1922 all recoreds were destroyed

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 588 square miles (1,523 km2), of which, 587 square miles (1,519 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.24%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lafayette County (north)
  • Pontotoc County (northeast)
  • Chickasaw County (east)
  • Webster County (south)
  • Grenada County (southwest)
  • Yalobusha County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge