Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Franklin County, Mississippi

Franklin County Education, Geography, and HistoryFranklin County, Mississippi Courthouse

Franklin County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,118, making it the fourth-least populous county in Mississippi. Its county seat is Meadville. The county was formed on December 21, 1809 from portions of Adams County and named for Founding Father Benjamin Franklin. It is bisected by the Homochitto River, which runs diagonally through the county from northeast to southwest.

Etymology - Origin of Franklin County Name

Franklin is named for Founding Father Benjamin Franklin. Benjamin Franklin (January 17, 1706 [O.S. January 6, 1705] - April 17, 1790) was one of the Founding Fathers of the United States of America. A noted polymath, Franklin was a leading author and printer, satirist, political theorist, politician, scientist, inventor, civic activist, statesman and diplomat. As a scientist he was a major figure in the Enlightenment and the history of physics for his discoveries and theories regarding electricity. He invented the lightning rod, bifocals, the Franklin stove, a carriage odometer, and a musical instrument. He formed both the first public lending library in America and first fire department in Pennsylvania. He was an early proponent of colonial unity and as a political writer and activist he, more than anyone, invented the idea of an American nation and as a diplomat during the American Revolution, he secured the French alliance that helped to make independence possible.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Franklin County History

This is one of the oldest of the counties, having been established on the 21st of December, 1809, while David Holmes of Virginia was serving as territorial governor. The County was named after Benjamin Franklin. The original act of the General Assembly recites that the part of Adams included within the following boundaries shall be known by the name of Franklin County:

"Beginning at the point where the basis-meridian line intersects the river Homochitto, and pursuing the said meridian line until it intersects the line dividing the counties of Adams and Jefferson, thence pursuing the last mentioned line to the western boundary of Washington County, thence pursuing the last mentioned line until it intersects the northern boundary of Amite County, thence along the said last mentioned boundary line to the point where it intersects the said river Homochitto, and thence Pursuing the meanders of said river to the beginning."

The county seat is located at the town of Meadville, in the center of the county, named for Cowles Mead, second secretary of the Mississippi Territory.

The County Courthouse burned in 1877, some records were destroyed.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 567 square miles (1,468 km2), of which, 565 square miles (1,462 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (6 km2) of it (0.38%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jefferson County (north)
  • Lincoln County (east)
  • Amite County (south)
  • Wilkinson County (southwest)
  • Adams County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge