Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Harrison County, Mississippi

Harrison County Education, Geography, and HistoryHarrison County, Mississippi Courthouse

Harrison County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 187,105, making it the second-most populous county in Mississippi. Its county seats are Biloxi and Gulfport. The county is named after US President William Henry Harrison.

Harrison County is part of the Gulfport-Biloxi-Pascagoula, MS Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Harrison County Name

Harrison is named for US President William Henry Harrison. William Henry Harrison (February 9, 1773 - April 4, 1841) was an American military leader, politician, the ninth President of the United States, and the first President to die in office. The oldest President elected until Ronald Reagan in 1980, Harrison had served 30 days in office, still the shortest tenure in United States presidential history, before his death in April 1841. His death created a brief constitutional crisis, but ultimately resolved many questions about presidential succession left unanswered by the Constitution until passage of the 25th Amendment.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Harrison County History

Harrison County was created on February 5, 1841 Hancock, Jackson and Perry Counties, with the following described limits:

"Beginning at the point where the line dividing ranges 13 and 14 strikes the bay of St. Louis, then with said line due north to the northern boundary of township 3, south, thence due east to the center of range 9; thence south to the bay of Biloxi; thence southeast to the point of Caddi; thence westwardly with the seashore and the shore of the bay of St. Louis to the beginning."

The tier of townships in Perry County, which adjoined Harrison on the north, were added to the county January 24, 1844. It took its name in honor of Gen. William Henry Harrison, then President of the United States. Its early history is embodied in that of Hancock and Jackson counties, from which it was principally formed. In 1916 most of the northern half of Harrison County was taken to form the new county of Stone.

Gulfport is the County seat. Biloxi is historically the oldest town in the State and was settled by the French in 1721, being the capital of the Province of Louisiana until 1722, when Bienville, then Governor, decided to move the capital to New Orleans.

The Courthouse had a Record loss in 1916. The county was severely damaged from both Hurricane Camille in August 1969 and Hurricane Katrina on August 28-29, 2005, causing catastrophic effects.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 976 square miles (2,528 km2), of which, 581 square miles (1,505 km2) of it is land and 395 square miles (1,023 km2) of it is water. The total area is 40.48% water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Stone County (north)
  • Jackson County (east)
  • Hancock County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge