Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi

Jefferson Davis County Education, Geography, and HistoryJefferson Davis County, Mississippi Courthouse

Jefferson Davis County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,487. Its county seat is Prentiss. The county is named in honor of Mississippi Senator and Confederate President Jefferson Davis. The county was carved out of Covington and Lawrence counties in March 1906. Governor James K. Vardaman signed the bill creating the county on May 9, 1906.

Etymology - Origin of Jefferson County Name

Jefferson Davis is named for CSA president Jefferson Davis


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jefferson County History

Jefferson Davis County was authorized by legislative act of March 31, 1906 (approved May 9th). It was taken from the territory of Covington and Lawrence counties and was named in honor of Jefferson Davis, the State being anxious to have a county named in honor of the President of the Southern Confederacy.

At a special election held in April, 1906, the county seat was located at Prentiss, in the central part of the county, and named for Sargent Smith Prentiss, the gifted Mississippi orator, thus linking together the names of two of Mississippi's most illustrious citizens.

Prentiss, the county seat, was established on March 3, 1903. It was formerly known as Blountville which was named after William Blount, an early settler and merchant. At a special election held in April of 1906, the county seat was located at Prentiss, in the central part of the county. The exact origin of the town name is uncertain but believed to be named after either Prentiss Webb Berry or S. S. Prentiss.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 409 square miles (1,060 km2), of which, 408 square miles (1,058 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.17%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Simpson County (north)
  • Covington County (east)
  • Lamar County (southeast)
  • Adams County (south)
  • Lawrence County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge