Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Lauderdale County, Mississippi

Lauderdale County Education, Geography, and HistoryLauderdale County, Mississippi Courthouse

Lauderdale County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 80,261. The county seat is Meridian. The county is named for colonel James Lauderdale, who was killed at the Battle of New Orleans in the War of 1812.

Lauderdale County is included in the Meridian, MS Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lauderdale County Name

Lauderdale is named for colonel James Lauderdale, who was killed at the Battle of New Orleans in the War of 1812


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lauderdale County History

Lauderdale County was established December 23, 1833, while Charles Lynch was acting-governor. By the original act it embraced "all the territory within townships 5, 6, 7 and 8, of ranges 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19," and has an area of about 19 townships.

Lauderdale County, as recited in the establishing act, was named "in memory of Col. James Lauderdale, who fell in battle at New Orleans". James Lauderdale, of Tennessee, a member of John Coffee's mounted brigade, was wounded in the battle of Talladega during the Creek Wars and was killed in the night attack on the British below New Orleans on December 23, 1814. The counties of Lauderdale in Alabama and Tennessee also were named for him. Marion undoubtedly was named for General Francis Marion, for whom Marion County had been named in 1811. Marion Station derived its name from the town of Marion.

Its early county seat was located at Marion until 1866; at Marion Station from 1866 to 1870; it was then removed to Meridian, the present county seat. In addition to the old county seat of Marion, the towns of Alamutcha and Daleville, and the villages of Sageville and Chunkeyville, were settled at a very early date in the history of the county. All four towns are now extinct.

  • Alamutcha was once an Indian village, situated not far from Kewanee.
  • Daleville is now known as Lizelia, and was about ten miles northwest of Meridian; it was named for Gen. Sam Dale, who first settled there.
  • A few miles distant is Cooper Institute, now known as Daleville.
    Sageville was near the present station of Okatibbee; E.J. Rew and Abram Burwell were citizens of the old village.
  • Chunkeyville was absorbed by Chunkey Station, on the Alabama & Vicksburg railroad.
  • Before the Civil war, Lauderdale Springs was a popular health resort.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 715 square miles (1,853 km2), of which, 704 square miles (1,822 km2) of it is land and 12 square miles (30 km2) of it (1.65%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Kemper County (north)
  • Sumter County, Alabama (east)
  • Choctaw County, Alabama (southeast)
  • Clarke County (south)
  • Newton County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge