Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Lincoln County, Mississippi

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and HistoryLincoln County, Mississippi Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 34,869. Its county seat is Brookhaven.

The county was created by the legislature in April 7, 1870, during the Reconstruction Era. It was formed from portions of Lawrence, Pike, Franklin, Copiah, and Amite counties. It was named for Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States.

Lincoln County comprises the Brookhaven, MS Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Jackson-Vicksburg-Brookhaven Combined Statistical Area. The county is southwest of the state capital of Jackson.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

Lincoln is named for US President Abraham Lincoln.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln County History

Lincoln County was established during the military Reconstruction period of the State, April 7, 1870, and was named for President Abraham Lincoln. It is located in the southwestern part of the State and the counties of Lawrence, Copiah, Pike, Franklin and Amite were divided to form its area. The act located the seat of justice at Brookhaven.
Brookhaven is the county seat and largest town in the county.

Brookhaven probably was named for Brookhaven, New York, on Long Island, the home of Samuel Jayne, who emigrated to the present site of Old Brook in about 1818; but it may have been named for the Brooks family, builders of the first house in Brookhaven.

There was an unknown record loss in 1893, no records exist before then.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 588 square miles (1,523 km2), of which, 586 square miles (1,517 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (6 km2) of it (0.42%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Copiah County (north)
  • Lawrence County (east)
  • Walthall County (southeast)
  • Pike County (south)
  • Amite County (southwest)
  • Franklin County (west)
  • Jefferson County (northwest)


The county is served by two separate public school districts, a private school, and a couple of smaller "Christian" or religious/private schools. The Lincoln County Public School District consists of four K-12 schools of elementary, middle school, and high school levels. These include Loyd Star, Bogue Chitto, West Lincoln and Enterprise. The Brookhaven School District with its 1983-1984 "National Blue Ribbon" award-winning Brookhaven High School as its flagship school, serves children living in the city limits of Brookhaven. Through annexations, the City tripled its size in 2007.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge