Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Marion County, Mississippi

Marion County Education, Geography, and HistoryMarion County, Mississippi Courthouse

Marion County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 27,088. Its county seat is Columbia. Marion County is named for American Revolutionary War guerrilla leader Francis Marion

Etymology - Origin of Marion County Name

Marion is named for American Revolutionary War guerilla leader Francis Marion, known as the Swamp Fox.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marion County History

Marion County was established December 9, 1811, and was named for General Francis Marion (1732-1795) of South Carolina, the "Swamp Fox" of the American Revolution. It originally embraced a large territory including the counties of Lawrence and Pike, and parts of Covington, Lincoln, Lamar, Pearl River and Walthall.

Marion County was created from the old counties of Amite, Wayne and Franklin, and its original limits were defined as follows:

"All that tract of country beginning on the line of demarcation where the fourth range of townships east of Pearl River intersects the said line, thence west with said line of demarcation, to the sixty-mile post, east of the Mississippi, being the first range of townships west of Tansopiho, thence north on said line of townships to the Choctaw boundary line, thence along said Choctaw boundary line to the fourth range of townships east of Pearl River, thence with said range to the beginning."

Two of the prominent early settlers of the region were Dougal McLaughlin and John Ford, both of whom represented the county in the Constitutional Convention of 1817. The former was a native of South Carolina, descended from an old Highland Scotch family, and a man distinguished for his probity and sterling worth.

In 1890, Marion gave a portion of its territory to Pearl River County, another part to Lamar in 1904, and still another slice to the newly organized county of Walthall in 1914.

Columbia is the county seat on the east bank of the Pearl River. It is near the center of the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 549 square miles (1,421 km2), of which, 542 square miles (1,405 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (16 km2) of it (1.14%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jefferson Davis County (north)
  • Lamar County (east)
  • Pearl River County (southeast)
  • Washington Parish, Louisiana (south)
  • Walthall County (west)
  • Lawrence County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge