Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Marshall County, Mississippi

Marshall County Education, Geography, and History

Marshall County, Mississippi CourthouseMarshall County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 37,144. Its county seat is Holly Springs. The county is named for Chief Justice of the United States John Marshall.

Marshall County is part of the Memphis, TN-MS-AR Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Marshall County Name

Marshall is named for Chief Justice of the United States John Marshall.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marshall County History

Marshall County was established February 9, 1836, the year in which the Chickasaw session of 1832 was divided by the commonwealth into political organizations. It was named for Chief Justice John Marshall and formerly included within its area a considerable portion of Benton, Tate, and several other counties. The act creating the county defined its limits as follows:

"Beginning at the point where the line of the basis meridian intersects the northern boundary line of the State, and running thence south with the said basis meridian line, to the center, of township 6; thence west through the center of township 6, according to the sectional lines, to the center of range 5 west; thence north through the center of range 5 west, according to the sectional lines, to the northern boundary line of the State, and thence east with the said boundary line, to the beginning."

Its original area was about 23 townships or 828 square miles. In 1870 it gave up part of its territory on the east to Benton County, and in 1873 it gave up another portion of its area to assist in the formation of Tate County, and received in lieu of the portion surrendered to Tate, all that portion of De Soto County lying within townships 1 and 2, R. 5 west.

Marshall County received its full share of settlers during the early rush of emigration into the newly opened Chickasaw cession. By the year 1840, it had a population of about 17,500, and by the year 1850 the population was 29,089. Among these were many prominent families and wealthy planters.

Three of the earliest settlements were at Tallaloosa, located about 8 miles southwest of Holly Springs, on the Pigeon Roost Creek, Waterford, one mile west of the station of the same name on the Illinois Central railroad, and the place of muster for the militia of that part of the State; and Hudsonville, about 4 miles southwest of old Lamar, on the stage road from Lagrange, Tennessee, to Holly Springs, Mississippi. All three places are now practically extinct. Its chief town and county seat is Holly Springs, the "City of Flowers".

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 710 square miles (1,838 km2), of which, 706 square miles (1,829 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.49%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Fayette County, Tennessee (north)
  • Benton County (east)
  • Union County (southeast)
  • Lafayette County (south)
  • Tate County (southwest)
  • DeSoto County (west)
  • Shelby County, Tennessee (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge