Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Montgomery County, Mississippi

Montgomery County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontgomery County, Mississippi Courthouse

Montgomery County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,925. Its county seat is Winona. The county was either named in honor of Richard Montgomery, an American Revolutionary War general killed in 1775 while attempting to capture Quebec City, Canada, or for Montgomery County, Tennessee, from which an early settler came. In that latter case, it would have been indirectly named for John Montgomery, a settler in Montgomery County, Tennessee, who founded the city of Clarksville, Tennessee, in that county.

Etymology - Origin of Montgomery County Name

Montgomery is named for American Revolutionary War military leader Richard Montgomery.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Montgomery County History

Montgomery County was established on May 13, 1871, was carved from the counties of Carroll and Choctaw In 1874 a part of its own territory was taken and transferred to Webster, then called Sumner County. The county was named in honor of Gen. Richard Montgomery who fell in the assault on Quebec.

The largest town and the seat is Winona, The word "Winona,"is an Indian word meaning "first-born daughter."A few of the other towns in the county are Duck Hill, Kilmichael, Thrailkill, Stewart, Eskridge, Lodi, Minerva, Poplar Creek, Fox, Carnegie, Sawyer and Alva.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 408 square miles (1,056 km2), of which, 407 square miles (1,054 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (3 km2) of it (0.25%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grenada County (north)
  • Webster County (northeast)
  • Choctaw County (east)
  • Attala County (south)
  • Carroll County (west)


Public School Districts

Montgomery County School District
Winona Separate School District

Private Schools

Winona Christian School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge