Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Neshoba County, Mississippi

Neshoba County Education, Geography, and HistoryNeshoba County, Mississippi Courthouse

Neshoba County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,676. Its county seat is Philadelphia. The name is derived from the Choctaw word nashoba meaning Wolf.

The county is known for the Neshoba County Fair and harness horse races. It is also home of the Williams Brothers Store, which has been in operation since the early 1900s.

Etymology - Origin of Neshoba County Name

Neshoba is a Native American word meaning grey wolf.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Neshoba County History

Neshoba County was formed December 23, 1833, from the territory ceded by the Choctaw nation three years earlier, and a desirable class of emigrants from the older states and the other parts of Mississippi came into the region at an early day. It has a rich Indian history. The name "Neshoba"is an Indian word meaning "grey wolf."The county is in the form of a square, containing sixteen townships. On February 5, 1836, land was taken from it to form the present county of Newton.

The county seat is Philadelphia located near the center of the county. Clerk of Chancery Court has divorce records, probate records from mid 1850's (somewhat scattered); Clerk of Circuit Court has marriage records from the 1830s through the present (though some were damaged by fires), and Land Records from 1836. The Philadelphia Public Library has mortgage books and miscellaneous county records

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 572 square miles (1,481 km2), of which, 570 square miles (1,476 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.29%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Winston County (north)
  • Kemper County (east)
  • Newton County (south)
  • Leake County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge