Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Perry County, Mississippi

Perry County Education, Geography, and HistoryPerry County, Mississippi Courthouse

Perry County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,250. The county seat is New Augusta. The county is named after the War of 1812 naval hero, Oliver Hazard Perry.

Perry County is part of the Hattiesburg, MS Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Perry County Name

Perry is named for American naval leader Oliver Hazard Perry. Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry (August 20, 1785 - August 23, 1819) was an officer in the United States Navy. He served in the War of 1812 against Britain and earned the nickname "Hero of Lake Erie" for leading American forces in a decisive naval victory at the Battle of Lake Erie.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Perry County History

Perry County originally formed the western part of the large county of Greene. It received its name in honor of Commodore Oliver H. Perry. In the act of February 3, 1820, which created it, the boundaries of Perry County are defined as follows:

"Beginning on the line of demarcation where the line that divides the thirteenth and fourteenth ranges intersects the said line of demarcation; thence with said range line to where the fifth parallel township line crosses the same; thence east with the said township line, to where the line that divides the eighth and ninth ranges crosses the same; thence with the line of demarcation; thence west to the beginning."

The county was afterward enlarged by adding townships 1, in ranges 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13, south of the 31st parallel, and township 5, in range 14, north of the 31st parallel, so that it embraced a total area of thirty-one townships. In 1908, Forrest County was formed from its western townships.

The county was settled by a large number of hardy pioneers along its watercourses during the first years of the last century.

The original county seat was the old town of Augusta, near the center of the county on the east bank of the Leaf River. New Augusta, two miles south of old Augusta is the current county seat. Hattiesburg, the seat of Forrest County, formerly shared that honor with New Augusta.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 650 square miles (1,684 km2), of which, 647 square miles (1,676 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) of it (0.46%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wayne County (northeast)
  • Greene County (east)
  • George County (southeast)
  • Stone County (south)
  • Forrest County (west)
  • Jones County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge