Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are eighty counties in Mississippi. Two original counties were Adams County and Jefferson County (formerly Pickering) established in 1799

Stone County, Mississippi

Stone County Education, Geography, and HistoryStone County, Mississippi Courthouse

Stone County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 17,786. Its county seat is Wiggins. Stone County was formed from the northern portion of Harrison County on June 5, 1916. The county was named for John M. Stone, who served as Governor of Mississippi from 1876 to 1882 and again from 1890 to 1896.

Etymology - Origin of Stone County Name

Stone is named for Governor of Mississippi John M. Stone. John Marshall Stone (April 30, 1830 - March 26, 1900) was an American politician from Mississippi who served longer as Governor of that state than anyone else, from 1876 to 1882 and again from 1890 to 1896.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Stone County History

Stone County was organized from the northern portion of Harrison by an act approved January 6, 1916, and was named in honor of John M. Stone, one of the ablest and most constructive governors following the reconstruction period. Wiggins, the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 448 square miles (1,160 km2), of which, 445 square miles (1,154 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.60%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Perry County (northeast)
  • George County (east)
  • Jackson County (southeast)
  • Harrison County (south)
  • Pearl River County (west)
  • Forrest County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge