Oregon State Hostess

Miss Oregon

Adopted in 1969.

Miss Oregon was adopted in 1969 as the Oregon State Hostess.

There not much offered on this designation, other then all Miss Oregon will hold the role of "official hostess" of the state in accordance with Oregon Revised Statutes: Miss Oregon designated to be official hostess, HCR 6 (1969)

Oregon State Hostess

Katie Marie Harman (2002)

Oregon State Hostess: Katie Marie Harman

Katie Harman, a 21-year old blue-eyed blonde, was named the 81st Miss America in 2002 in front of a flag-waving crowd gathered.

The Miss Oregon Scholarship Program is a not-for-profit corporation established solely to provide contestants with the opportunity to enhance their professional and educational goals, and to achieve those pursuits with the assistance of monetary grants and awards.

The scholarships for the 2000 Miss Oregon Contestants was $42,100 up from $37,000 the previous year.

The Miss America Organization continues to be the largest scholarship for women in the world, making over $30 million available annually.

Despite the recent tragic events of September 11, 2002, the Miss America Pageant continued on Sept. 23 as planned. Oregon was well represented by Portland State's Katie Harmon. Harmon is currently a junior at PSU pursuing a degree in speech and vocal performance. She is the first Miss Oregon to take home the title of Miss America.

As Miss Oregon, Harmon received $10,000 in scholarship money. When Harmon stepped up to receive her crown as Miss America, she also received a $50,000 scholarship. Harmon plans to apply this toward her education at PSU. She also plans to continue onto graduate school to study bioethics.

Katie Marie Harman
Gresham, Oregon

Age: 21

Glen Harman & Darla Harman


Portland State University
University of Puget Sound
Centennial High School

Platform Issue:

Supporting Terminal Breast Cancer Patients

Scholastic Ambition:
To obtain a BA in speech communication and a MA in bioethics

Classical Vocal

Scholastic Honors:
Oregon Laurels Scholarship; Portland State University Dean's list; President's Award for Educational Excellence; Oregon Scholar designation

Other Accomplishments:
Selected as an apprentice in trauma surgery at Oregon Health Sciences University; winner of the 2001 Statewide Young Artists Concerto Competition; recipient of the Oregon Music Educators Association Gold Award

Trauma apprentice/cancer research assistant-Oregon Health Sciences University; Biology lab assistant-University of Puget Sound; Yearbook Editor-University of Puget Sound; sales associate

Father is an engineer. Mother is a special education assistant. She has two sisters, Angela, 32, and Stacey, 19.

Career Ambition:
To work for a health care organization

Local Competition Sponsor:
Miss Portland Scholarship Program

State Competition Sponsor:
Miss Oregon Scholarship Program, Seaside


Katie Harman won the Miss America title and brought it home to the state of Oregon for the first time in 2002. Oregon first made the semifinalist list in 1947 when Jo Ann Amorde competed as Miss Oregon. Oregon delegates then made the semifinals in 1948, 1954, 1958, 1963, 1966, 1978, 1982, and 1998.

They made their first appearance in the top five when Dorothy Mae Johnson was 1st runner up in 1956. Since then Marjean Kay Langley was 3rd ru in 1969, Elizabeth Simmons was 3rd Runner up in 1994, Emily Orton was 1st Runner up in 1996, and Patricia Leines was 2nd ru in 1997.

Miss Oregons

2013 - Allison Cook
2012 - Nichole Renee Mead
2011 - Caroline McGowan
2010 - Stephenie Steers
2009 - CC Barber
2008 - Danijela Krstic
2007 - Kari Virding
2006 - Donilee McGinnis
2005 - Lucy Fleck
2004 - Brook Roberts
2003 - April Robinson
2002 - Brita Stream
2001 - Katie Marie Harman
2002 - Katie Marie Harman
became Miss America

2001 - Heidi Rickey
2000 - Angela Day Brink
1999 - Angela Reed
1998 - Jennifer SiscoMoore
1997 - Tamara Ann Finch
1996 - Patricia Regan Leines
1995 - Emily John Orton
1994 - Roberta Stenbeck
1993 - Elizabeth Simmons
1992 - Sara Kristi Paulson
1991 - Carolyn Helen Ladd
1990 - Brittney Gae Thompson
1989 - Lynette Marla Boggs
1988 - Anna Denise Jones
1987 - Tamara Jean Fazzolari
1986 - Jana Svea Peterson
1985 - Dana Marie Kocks
1984 - Renee Louise Bagley
1983 - Stephanie Jill Wymer
1982 - Laura Ann Matthys
1981 - Julie Ross
1980 - Teresa Richardson
1979 - Tami Mae Sanders
1978 - Amy Kathleen White
1977 - Suzanne Louise Bunker
1976 - Shan Rae Moss
1975 - Betty JoAnn Hupfer
1974 - Juli Ann Berg
1973 - Nancy Jean Jackson
1972 - Sandra Lynn Herring
1971 - Lynn Dee Grenz
1970 - Cynthia Lynn Harrison
1969 - Margie Elaine Huhta

Oregon Law

Miss Oregon designated to be official hostess, HCR 6 (1969)

US State Symbols
State symbols represent things that are special to a particular state.