United States Government Buildings

White House

White House

Completed 1800

Located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue in Washington, DC, the White House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the country. The White House has been the official residence of all the presidents of the United States with the exception of George Washington. Washington served from 1789 to 1797. By the time the White House was completed in 1800, John Adams was President. The house was rebuilt and restored after it was burned by the British in August 1814.

United States Government Buildings: White House

The White House has six floors--two basements, two public floors, and two floors for the First Family. Visitors who tour the White House are able to see the most beautiful and historic rooms in the house including the East Room, the Green Room, the Blue Room, the Red Room, and the State Dining Room. These rooms are used by the President and First Lady to entertain guests and to receive leaders of other countries. The Oval Office is where the President does the business of the country--signing bills and Executive Orders and meeting with staff, visitors, and guests.

For more information on the White House, check out The White House for Kids or the Virtual Tour of the White House.

US State Symbols
State symbols represent things that are special to a particular state.