Kentucky State Covered Bridge-Capital of Kentucky

Fleming County

Fleming County - Kentucky State Covered Bridge Capital

Adopted on July 15, 1998.

Fleming County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2010 census, the population was 14,348. Its county seat is Flemingsburg. The county was formed in 1798 and named for Colonel John Fleming, an Indian fighter and early settler. It's a prohibition or dry county. Fleming County was adopted on July 15, 1998 as Kentucky State Covered Bridge Capital.

Kentucky State Covered Bridge-Capital of Kentucky: Fleming County

Fleming county was formed in 1798. It is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 590 to 1420 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 13,792 in a land area of 350.84 square miles, an average of 39.3 people per square mile. The county seat is Flemingsburg.

There were once hundreds of covered bridges in Kentucky, but most have been replaced by more modern structures or allowed to deteriorate. As of October 1997, there are only 12 covered bridges remaining in Kentucky. Most of those are in the northeastern corner of the state. Two of the remaining covered bridges are in danger.

Three covered bridges are still standing in the Fleming County :

Hillsboro Bridge near Grange City, built in 1865;
Hillsboro or Grange City bridge carried the road between Hillsboro and Grange City (now KY 111) across Fox Creek in southeastern Fleming county. It was built between 1865 and 1870 and is an 86-foot long double post and brace design.

Ringo's Mills Bridge, built in 1867;
Ringos Mills Bridge carried KY 158 across Fox Creek near Ringos Mills in southeastern Fleming county. It was built around 1869 and is an 81-foot double post and brace design.

Goddard Bridge, built in 1867.
Goddard or White Bridge crosses Sand Lick Creek at Goddard in eastern Fleming county. It is the only town lattice truss bridge remaining in Kentucky and is 90 feet long.

Kentucky Law

The law designating Fleming County as the official Kentucky state "Covered Bridge Capital of Kentucky" is found in the Kentucky Revised Statutes, Title 1, Chapter 2, Section 2.270.


2.270 Covered bridge capital of Kentucky
Official covered bridge of Kentucky.
(1) Fleming County is named and designated as the "Covered Bridge Capital of Kentucky."
(2) The Switzer Covered Bridge in Franklin County is named and designated as the official covered bridge of Kentucky.
Effective: July 15, 1998
History: Created 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 404, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1998.

US State Symbols
State symbols represent things that are special to a particular state.